enfr

Auto-save and recovery

Updated: 2017-10-10

The auto-save process helps with the recovery of files if TaxCycle quits unexpectedly. TaxCycle automatically saves a backup file every 60 seconds. The next time you open TaxCycle, you'll see a list of any recovered files.

In cases where TaxCycle automatically reboots—when Windows installs updates—TaxCycle automatically restarts and re-opens any files that were previously open.

Recover from auto-save files

  1. Auto-save files are saved in the same folder as the original TaxCycle file, but with a tilde before the extension. For example: .~2017T1
    auto-save-file
  2. If TaxCycle closes suddenly without saving the open files, the next time you open TaxCycle, recovered files appear at the top of the Recent sidebar.
    auto-save-recovered
  3. Click on the file to open it. The next time you save the file, it will overwrite the old file unless you Save As to give it a new name.
  4. Alternately, hover over the file in the Recent sidebar and click the Save button to rename it before opening.
  5. Remove any files you don’t need from the Recovery list by hovering over the name and clicking the delete icon on the right.
  6. If a file does not appear in the sidebar, you can recover the contents by removing the tilde in the file extension. For example, change .~2017T1 to .2017T1 and then open the file in TaxCycle.

Save files together

You can configure TaxCycle and DoxCycle to automatically save and/or close linked file(s) when you do the same action in the other program.

  1. To open options from the Start screen, click Options in the green or blue bar on the left side. If you have a file open, go to File menu, then click Options.
  2. In options, expand the DoxCycle or TaxCycle section, and click on Sharing.
  3. Check Automatically save linked TaxCycle file(s) when saving DoxCycle files to save both files when they are both open. 
  4. If you check the option to Automatically close linked TaxCycle file(s) when closing DoxCycle files, both files close without prompting you to save if there are no changes. 
  5. You can set these options in each program so that they behave differently if you like.

options-sharing