enfr

Data locking

Updated: 2017-02-09

When you open a file that has been successfully received by the EFILE system or in which you have checked the Completed status for all returns in the file—taxpayer, spouse, dependant(s), federal, provincial—TaxCycle T1 and T2 will suggest you lock the data in the file.

A locked file means nothing can be changed in the file. All fields become green, non-edit fields. This prevents changes to the file. Calculated fields will also not be updated even if you open the file in a later version of TaxCycle where there are calculation changes.

Protect menu data locking Manual data locking

Lock and unlock files manually from the Protect menu. Click Lock file or Unlock file.

Suggested data locking

  1. If all required returns and forms (T1013, T1135, T1 EFILE, etc.) in the file for all taxpayers (principal taxpayer, spouse, and all dependants) have been successfully transmitted, or each taxpayer has the Completed status checked, a bulletin appears suggesting you lock the file.
  2. Click Lock to change all fields in the file turn green so they cannot be edited.
  3. The bulletin stays there but now shows Unlock to allow you to quickly unlock the file.
  4. To hide the bulletin temporarily, click Dismiss. This closes the message until you close and re-open the return.
  5. Dismissed messages are still visible in the Review sidebar, under the Bulletins view.
  6. To hide the message so it does not reappear, sign it off by clicking the check mark on the bulletin or next to the message in the Review sidebar.
  7. If you never want to see these bulletins again for any client, use the Quick Fix message under the lightbulb in the Review sidebar to disable data locking bulletins completely.

Bulletin to suggest data locking

Automatic data locking

You can configure TaxCycle to automatically lock the data for T1 and T2 files when when all required returns and forms (T1013, T1135, T1 EFILE, etc.) in the file for all taxpayers (principal taxpayer, spouse, and all dependants) have been successfully transmitted, or each taxpayer has the Completed status checked.

  1. To open options, go to the File menu, then Options. Or, if you are on the Start screen, click Options in the blue bar on the left. 
  2. On the left, scroll down and expand either the T1/TP1 or T2 section and click on General to apply the settings to all years. To set different options for a particular year, expand the section and click on a year.
  3. On the right side, check Automatically lock files when they are completed.
  4. Click OK.

TaxCycle will not automatically lock a file if it was previous locked and unlocked (either manually or through the suggestion bulletin). 

Automatic data locking option


When is a file considered complete?

TaxCycle considers a file complete if all required returns and forms in the file (T1013, T1135, T1 EFILE, etc.), for all taxpayers in the file (principal taxpayer, spouse, and all dependants), have been successfully transmitted. These workflow items are automatically checked as you complete the return.

It also looks at the Completed status for taxpayer. If that workflow item is checked off for all taxpayers in the file (principal taxpayer, spouse, and all dependants), TaxCycle considers the file complete (and will suggest locking the data). 

We have heard that some firms use the Completed status differently. For example, to indicate the return preparation is complete and that the returns are ready to transmit. Then they batch transmit later. If you work this way, TaxCycle will save the results of the transmission without unlocking and changing the calculations in the file.

How to set the Completed status

The Completed workflow item is a manual check box. You must check it for each taxpayer individually. If you forget one, TaxCycle will not suggest locking the file.To set it:

  1. Go to the File menu and click on Info. Or, save the file if you have workflow set to display on save. 
  2. Click on a taxpayer's name.
  3. Check Completed.
  4. Go to the next taxpayer's name, and repeat. 

Set the Completed workflow item